MY TOP 30: Year 1 & Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! – OUTRO

MY TOP 30: Year 1 & Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! – OUTRO

Courtesy of Google

As I stated in the INTRO, the point of this was to document the 3 years of popolio from September 15, 2008 to September 15, 2011.  I think it’s important to document and celebrate yourself (in a venture or project like this) especially since in a lot of cases no one is going to do it for you.  I’ve put a lot of time, passion, and fire into this, so I wanted to do these countdowns for myself most of all.  That said, I do hope people were keeping up with, reading, viewing, and revisiting these posts with me.   You don’t do a blog to read it to yourself.  Or at least I don’t.  

I think 3 years is a good place to stop and is a good bulk of work that can speak for itself.  popolio has seen some form or iteration since 2008, so the concept has existed for 3 years and I’ve steadily been working on it all that time.  The first version exists at http://popolio.wordpress.com/, which is still a live site and is where I pulled the posts for the Year 1 countdown from.  Feel free to check out all the other Year 1 posts that were not on the countdown there.

As I also said in the INTRO: 

In Year 2 the site moved to a new server.  I was working with someone through Year 2, but then we hit a wall and experienced some creative differences.  Hence, I have no way to document Year 2.

Because of those creative differences, I created the current site at  https://realpopolio.wordpress.com/  and renamed it THE REAL popolio, for obvious reasons.

So, apologies to all the artists that were featured during Year 2 that would have shown up on a Year 2 countdown.  I do think there is something magical about only focusing on the first year and the last year; the beginning and the end.  There’s some synergy there, I think.  Let me reiterate that rankings were based on internal WordPress.com stats for the popolio sites.  It was about how many hits (visits) each post received; not my personal choices.  

Felt like I bit off more than I could chew with 2 concurrent countdowns and 30 posts each (plus INTRO and OUTRO), but we got through.  Seems like Year 1 was dominated by music videos from the monthly MY TOP 10 countdowns and Year 3 was more about interviews (pop quiz and Questions for features).  In Year 3, I did stop doing the MY TOP 10 feature and did focus more on interviews, so it makes sense.  Austin, El Paso, Texas, and the world were all well-represented.  As were pop, hip hop, R&B, Latin, and dance.  That’s how I like it.  If you go to the about tab, popolio is…, you’ll see popolio was always meant to be a hodgepodge.  Mission accomplished.

Courtesy of Google

Hope you enjoyed.  There it went!  ‘Nuff said.

freddie beat aka Freddie Rodriguez
THE REAL popolio creator/editor

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! Links 15-1 & OUTRO « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

