MY TOP 30: Year 1 Posts of ALL-TIME! 6. Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes Eye Legacy popolio podcast [with Ron Lopes]

MY TOP 30: Year 1 Posts of ALL-TIME!

LEFT EYE POW-ER. Courtesy of Google

6. Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes Eye Legacy popolio podcast [with Ron Lopes]
This is the only popolio podcast to make the countdown.  It is also the first one I ever did for THE REAL popolio. TLC is my favorite group of all-time.  I’ve said that many a times and it will never change.

When I started this blog, I had reached out to Left Eye’s sister, Reigndrop Lopes, who is an artist in her own right, to try to feature and/or interview her.  I never got a response.

One I found out the family was putting out the first posthumous Left Eye release through independent label in Boston (there’s that Boston connection again), I reached out through the official site that was created for that project, which was called Eye Legacy.  To my surprise, they responded to my email and I was able to set something up with her brother, Ronald Lopes.

I was so excited and probably more nervous than anything.  I actually spoke to him on my birthday in December 2008, but the interview was not posted until January 2009 closer to the release date of Eye Legacy.

It will go down as one of my highlights of doing this blog.  It’s a birthday I will never forget.  Ron was very down-to-earth, which I appreciated.  At one point, he even says he’s “regular peeps,” which is classic and echoes what is said about Left Eye and Chilli on one of the interludes on FanMail.

I’ve tried to get interviews with T-Boz and Chilli since, but have not been successful in getting any responses.  For me, Ron stands in Lisa’s place, so the other two are left.  If I continue to interview artists in some form or fashion, T-Boz and Chilli will always be two dream “gets.”

TLC Forever.  Left Eye Forever.  ‘Nuff said!

Listen to the original Wednesday, January 7, 2009 post here — popolio podcast: Interview about Left Eye Legacy [with Lisa Lopes’ brother, Ron Lopes].  It includes her song, “Let’s Just Do It” featuring TLC and Missy Elliott.

Listen to all 5 popolio podcast interviews here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 1 Posts of ALL-TIME! 5. Left Eye INTRO « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

