MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 26. Medicine Park pop quiz

MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME!

from popolio pic-olio posted on Tuesday, April 5th

26. Medicine Park pop quiz
ATX folk/pop artist, Medicine Park aka Clay Berkes, takes the Year 3 Number 26 spot with his Friday, January 14, 2011 pop quiz interview.  Not only did he kick off the month, he kicked off the new year.  The second January 2011 pop quiz posted on Friday, January 28, 2011, and featured the Garland/Dallas-area R&B artist, B-May.

Additionally, Medicine Park was the first artist I shot for the very first creative photo shoot for THE REAL popolio pic-olio feature.  I’m not a photog, but I like to dabble.  I’d been wanting to do creative, conceptual photo shoots with artists for awhile.  Like the old Rolling Stone covers by Annie Leibovitz  as well as David LaChapelle’s and Herb Ritts‘ stuff.  On a much smaller scale and with no budget, of course!  I’d tried to work with other artists for a few years off-and-on and it just never came together.

Then, with MP, it just all came together rather nicely and quickly.  I think we had great chemistry and, really, he was justa natural and a pro, so I didn’t have to direct him much.  He got my concepts and it was like he could read my mind.  I also tried to remain true to his vibe with my ideas.  It was fun.

You can see that pic-olio here and BONUS pic-olio featuring outtakes from that shoot here.  Last week, I posted the third (second shot by me) creative pic-olio with Lubbock-based, Austin-loving, acoustic rock duo, Lipstick Letters.  You can see that pic-olio here.

See the original post here — Medicine Park pop quiz interview – ATX.  It includes his song, “Daphne Wilkerson,” and a  The Buggles’ video for “Video Killed the Radio Star.”

See all 28 Year 3 pop quiz interviews here.

Courtesy of Google

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 9. JADA “This Party’s On Fire” Video Extras Call & B-May Pop Quiz « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

