MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 29. Girl in a Coma 5Q

MY TOP 30:  Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME!

Courtesy of Google

29. Girl in a Coma 5Q
The Year 3 29 spot
is taken by San Anto’s own, Girl in a Coma.  I did a series of interviews for the inaugural Neon Desert Music Festival out of El Paso, my hometown, during what I called El Paso Week.  The festival went down on Saturday, April 30, 2011, and this interview went live on Wednesday, April 13, 2011.

Since I’m from there, I wanted to do my own part to represent for this festival.   I was really excited that someone was doing this and that it was something that hadn’t been done there before.

I also like the idea of bridging the musical gap between Austin and El Paso.  The founders of the festival are from El Paso and based in Austin, like myself.  I only wish I could have featured more El Paso Artists through the years.

Though I feature artists from around the country (and sometimes the world), I do highlight when they are regional.  I usually include it at the end of the title of the post with a hyphen and the name of the city they are from and/or based in.  In the case of  an event, I call them a so-and-so event Artist.  So, Girl in a Coma were a Neon Desert Artist.

The Questions for feature is a nice alternative to the standardized pop quiz feature as it allows me to tailor my questions to the artist.  I also left it open-ended  in regard to the number of questions that can be included.  There’s no mention of number in the title of this particular feature for that reason.  Usually I work with multiples of 5 with no more than 20 questions.  Sometimes I break an interview into 2 to 3 parts.  I could do a 2-part 20Q interview with 10 questions in each post.

See the original post here — 5Q for Girl in a Coma — Neon Desert Artist.  It includes a performance video of their cover of Selena’s “Si Una Vez” and an interesting fact about them.

See all 7 Neon Desert interviews and more here.

Courtesy of Google


Leave a Reply

