Lipstick Letters pic-olio – Lubbock/ATX

Editor’s Note:  Zonisphere Media Group, home of the e-zine, Zubterrain, where my weekly music column, Urb’l (Urban Cool) Remedy, lived, continues to undergo a site overhaul, indefinitely.   So, my column is currently halted.  I finished out my June posts here at THE REAL popolio.

My articles normally went live on Tuesdays. I thought I was done for the meantime, but I have a few outstanding.  Since this was in flux and already scheduled with the artists, I think it deserves to see the light of day.  At Urb’l Remedy, I would have called this a BONUS Photo Pictorial (only to post on the last week of 5-week months like August).  THE REAL popolio version is a pic-olio, that could post any time.

That said, I normally had a Cause of the Month interview that kicked things off the first week of each month.  I had reached out to local R&B songbird, Lisa Marshall, to be my interviewee for August, but then I learned about the hiatus at Zubterrain.  I do know her COM would have been Out Youth Austin.  So, for these two August posts (one posted at the beginning of the month), that’s what it will be.  Click on the link to find out more about the organization and enjoy the pic-olio.
+++

Cause of the Month:  Out Youth Austin

Thank you to Jenni Lord and Tina Turner (yes, that’s her name!), collectively Lipstick Letters, for their openness to the process and patience on waiting for these to post.  We did the photo shoot way back at the beginning of July.  On Ms. Lord’s birthday weekend, no less.  I got the chance to interview Jenni Lord for SXSW earlier this year.  Please check out that interview over at therepubliq.com.

I’m not going to give away the concepts this time around.  I’ll just leave that to your imagination and interpretation.  It will be Lipstick Letters and my little secret only visible in the traces of their lipstick.  Corny, I know.  Couldn’t resist.  I will say, we had a quite a few set-ups, so I went with 10 final photos.

Shout out to Corey Hurt and Eric Garcia for hosting us and providing the location for the shoot.

Lipstick Letters play the inaugural OUTlander Fall Festival during Austin PRIDE 2011 next weekend, on Saturday, September 10, 2011.  Go  to the OUTlander Facebook Page for deets!

They are also the first September 2011 pop quiz interview Artist.  Read it here.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Lipstick Letters pop quiz interview – Lubbock/ATX « realpopolio
  2. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 26. Medicine Park pop quiz « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

