10Q for Bird Call Before Her 8/17/11 Show@The Hole in the Wall – ATX

I first posted Bird Call’s (aka Chiara Angelicola) video for her award-winning song, “Waltz in the Snow,” a few weeks back.  As I stated in that post, and will restate here, she will be playing the Hole in the Wall THIS WEDNESDAY, August 17, 2011, with Johanna and the Dusty Floor

Before then, get to know a little bit about this intriguing up-and-coming Brooklyn-based artist with our EXCLUSIVE 10Q interview.

Listen to Bird Call’s version of Beck’s “Lost Cause.”

Click the first pic to go to Bird Call’s official site and second, at the end of the interview, to get to her Facebook Page.

***

by Gretchen Robinette

1. You probably get this question all the time, but how did you come up with the Bird Call moniker?  What does it mean?  Quite honestly I am not quite sure if I experienced a specific moment when Bird Call came to me.  I think it was more of a culmination of experiences that led to a moment where I just intuited the name and that was that. 

I got my first two tattoos of these two sparrow-style birds on my forearms a few years ago, after that I started subconsciously paying more attention to birds, in general, their morning songs, bird paraphernalia, etc.  I’m pretty sure I’m going to be a crazy bird woman when I’m old and gray.

2. Congrats on winning the Performance Category in this year’s International Songwriters Competition with “Waltz in the Snow!”  I don’t think many up-and-coming artists even know about it.  How did you hear about it?  How does it feel to have won?  I heard about ISC through several different mediums including Folk Alliance, Sonic Bids, and newsletters.  It’s one of those things that I didn’t really pay much attention to the first few years.  Once I released my first record I submitted my song, “Momentum,” and never heard back.  The second year I submitted “Waltz in the Snow” and I didn’t think much of it.  When I got the word that I was a finalist, I just flipped out and was like I don’t care if I win because I was just so stoked to have made the finals.  When I received notice that I won, I was pumped that these greats like Tom Waits and Peter Gabriel acknowledged my songwriting.  Manifested dream.

3. Diggin’ the look on the cover of your latest EP, Other Creatures, with the rainbow braid and feathers.  Very bird-y, of course.  What was the inspiration?  Do you ever perform in a look like this or would you appear in a video that way?  As far as photos, I always like exploring different ideas that pop in my head when I’m dreaming, working out, or in the shower.  I like creating stories in my head and then bringing them to life.

The cover for the EP was more of an exploration and art piece that I did with my fantastic photographer and close friend, Gretchen Robinette.  I usually don’t dress too crazy on stage but I can never say no to glitter. 

4. The reason I ask about videos is because you look like a totally different person in the “Waltz in the Snow” video.  Not only do you look younger and more innocent, but very classic, ‘50s, I think (if I’m getting my eras right), but definitely old school.  Tell me about this persona and the video.  Which is more you?  I’m a chameleon.  I like exploring different parts of my personalities. When I write, I take on the role of the story-teller of that song.  “Waltz in the Snow” is very much about an innocent girl experiencing Brooklyn for the first time.  We tried to emulate that in the video. It’s all based on the story.

5. What about “Waltz in the Snow?”  Why did you decide to write a song like this both lyrically and sonically?  It is your ode to Brooklyn, correct?  I wrote it when I first moved to Brooklyn during the daunting cold of my first real east coast winter.  When I write it seems to come from some place outside of me and deep within me at the same time.  I cannot try to manipulate what comes out too much.  It felt right at the time.  I can say that I intended the 3 count time as I have always wanted to write a waltz.

6. Use this question to wax poetic about Brooklyn and tell us all, especially us Austinites, why Brooklyn is so exquisite.  I feel that when artists move to New York they move with a drive and intention to build something great.  Brooklyn carries this energy constantly from day into night.  You feel it around you, and it is what keeps me motivated, creating, being inspired, and challenging myself. 

7. How did the co-headlining tour with Johanna and the Dusty Floor come together?  Why not tour solo?  Johanna and I both released our records on May 24th and we had both been talking about touring our music out.  It seemed logical to split costs and combine efforts to tour the country together since our music is so compatible as well.  We’re really stoked about it all and having a lot of fun.

8. Have you been to Austin before?  What can we expect from your Austin stop at the Hole in the Wall?  It will be my first time in Austin.  I’ve never been.  I’m bringing my California-native-via-Brooklyn vibes and hope everyone likes.  I have heard nothing but great things about the Austin music scene.  Really excited and looking forward to playing this fun spot with some great local acts as well.

9.  Tell us one salacious rumor that you’ve heard about the ATX.  I hear that when you walk into any bar you get your first couple of drinks on the house.

10. You’re a new bird species.  What are you called, what do you look like, and what does your bird call sound like?  Describe.  I am the Pantheonicus Horned Pegagasius Owl.  I try to balance my life with innocence and a healthy challenge on a daily basis.  I also watch B-side horror films and do yoga.  Hooty Hoo.

by Gretchen Robinette

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Music Video: Bird Call “Waltz in the Snow” « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

