Peelander-Z pop quiz interview – SXSW Artist

NYC’s Peelander-Z are like anime brought to life like some crazy-musical-Saturday-morning-cartoon-punk-performance-art-show.

Peelander-Z play a 18+ show at Headhunters (720 Red River Street) this Saturday, March 19, 2011, starting at 1:05 AM.

March 16, 2011

Name:  Peelander-Z
Genre:  Japanese Action Comic Punk
Latest Release: P-TV-Z (Chicken Ranch Records)
Release Date:  September 28, 2010

~pop quiz answered by Peelander-Yellow~

This, That, or the Other

1.Underground OR Mainstream? I love both and wanna’ be a bridge for both music scene!
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (OR Both)???   After I make tons of money, I would maintain artistic integrity and vision to you all.
3. Studio OR Stage? Stage!!!!!  Yes!!!!! Stage is my home, my kitchen, my bed and my bathroooooooom!
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? I never think about it.  Because my mom keeps telling me “Don’t think too much! Do it!”
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!?  I’m not human-being!  I can do something very special with you.  Do you wanna’ come with me tonight?

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my part of smile. It makes me smile and HAPPEE.
7. I’m musically inspired by Japanese old kids’ songs.
8. If I could have made any music video it would have been Space Action Samurai Zombie Movie by Akira Kurosawa.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Astro Boy. I love his hair.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to   Yellow, Red, and Green.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I’d like to have lots of friends on the earth.
12.  I want my fans to:  Eat rice balls and noodles every day!!
13. If I could only share one thing about myself it would be:  Yellow hair!!!
14. Wild Card!  Yellow card is my card!!!
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  The first guitarist who performs in space. 

Editor’s Note:  Based on the answer to Number 8, I chose this video from DailyMotion for Peelander-Z.  Bulgarian vocalist, Yanka Rupkina, over scenes from Akira Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai.



Listen to “Taco Taco Tacos”  from Peelander-Z’s latest release, P-TV-Z.  Click on the cover to go to their official site.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 10 SXSW Artist pop quiz interviews and Showcases « realpopolio
  2. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 21. Peelander-Z pop quiz « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

