The Niceguys pop quiz interview – SXSW Artist

Houston-based, the Niceguys, offer a nice mix of hip hop beats and rap lyrics that defy expectations and entertain the masses.

The Niceguys play a 21+ show at the Scoot Inn (1308 E. 4th Street) next Thursday, March 17, 2011, starting at 8:50 PM.

March 12, 2011

Name:   The Niceguys
Genre:  Hip-Hop
Debut Release:  The Show (265, Self-Released)
Release Date:  September 28, 2010

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream?  Mainstream
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (OR Both)??? BOTH
3. Studio OR Stage? Stage
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? Roman Catholicism
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Know the right time for each.

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my disposition.
7. I’m musically inspired by life.
8. If I could have made any music video it would have been an unwritten song by The Niceguys.                                               
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Batman.                                                      
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Good Clothes, Good Music, and Niceguys.  

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I’m supposed to be.
12.  I want my fans to:  Trust me.
13.  If I could only share one thing about myself it would be:  I don’t have it all figured out.  Just mostly figured out.                                                     
14. Wild Card!  Everything is a fight.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  Like no other.

Editor’s Note:  Need to rework question Number 8, but since the first song Niceguys member, Ives Saint, ever memorized was Nas’ “The Message,” that’s the video I’m choosing for them.



Listen to “Good Shepherd” from the Niceguys’ debut, The Show.  Click on the cover to go their official blog.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 10 SXSW Artist pop quiz interviews and Showcases « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

