Tapes ‘n Tapes pop quiz interview – SXSW Artist

Minneapolis boys, Tapes ‘n Tapes, making psychedelic guitar-driven melodic doodles and sonic squiggles of rock.

Tapes ‘n Tapes play a show at the Rusty Spurs (405 E. 7th Street) next Friday, March 18, 2011, at 11:00 PM and an all ages show Radio Day Stage Austin Convention Center (500 E. Cesar Chavez Street) next Saturday, March 19, 2011, at 2:00 PM.

March 10, 2011

Name:   Tapes ‘n Tapes
Genre:  Rock ‘n Roll
Latest Release: Outside (ibid records)
Release Date:  January 11, 2011

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Underground
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (OR Both)??? Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision…not opposed to making money doing it.
3. Studio OR Stage? Both
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? Spirituality
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Yes

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my vehicle from my fantasy world to the real world.
7. I’m musically inspired by life and the weather.
8. If I could have made any music video it would have been “Weapon of Choice” by Fatboy Slim.                                               
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Hulk.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Party, Rest, or Whatever.  

 Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I love music.  There’s something about listening to and playing music that makes me feel warm and fuzzy inside.
12. I want my fans to:  I have fans?
13. If I could only share one thing about myself it would be:  My love for sweet sweet musical jams.
14.   Wild Card!  Variety is the spice of life.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  Accurate.  If that’s not doable, I would like it to at least be filled with flattering half-truths.

The video Tapes ‘n Tapes wish they would have made!



Listen to “Freak Out” from Tapes ‘n Tapes’ latest release, Outside.  Click on the cover to go to their official site.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 10 SXSW Artist pop quiz interviews and Showcases « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

