BRAIDS pop quiz interview – SXSW Artist

BRAIDS, foursome since high school, weave luscious and layered soundscapes like mouth-watering strands of bobbing cotton candy webs in rainbow pinwheel turnstiles of infinite depths reminiscent of Björk.

BRAIDS play 21+ shows at the Beauty Bar/Palm Door (401 Sabine Street) next Wednesday, March 16, 2011, and Club de Ville (900 Red River Street) next Saturday, March 19, 2011, both starting at 11:00 PM.

March 8, 2011

Name:   BRAIDS
Genre:  Experimental Pop
Debut Release: Native Speaker (Kanine Records)
Release Date:   January 18, 2011

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream? Underground
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (OR Both)??? Maintain Artistic Integrity while making enough money so we can continue doing this.
3. Studio OR Stage? Stage
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism? I think the real question is Hedonism or Spirituality?
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? Depends on who it is.

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my heartbeat.
7. I’m musically inspired by Bach.
8. If I could have made any music video it would have been a step-by-step as to how I got my career by me.                                               
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Batman.                                                    
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to Peanut Butter, Jam, and Sandwiches.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:   Sometimes life can get too hard.
12. I want my fans to:  Buy Lip Smackers and then put it all on at the same time so that the room smells like bubblegum Lip Smackers.
13. If I could only share one thing about myself it would be:  My wit and charm to answering questions.             
14. Wild Card!  I wonder what Ricky Gervais is doing right now.
15. I want my musical legacy to be:  Here.

Editor’s Note:  Seems like not everyone is getting the intent of question Number 8.  Since BRAIDS’ “Lemonade” [listen below] is so tooth-decayingly sweet and oh so addictively so and because its drums remind me of this song, I’m choosing Bow Wow Wow’s cover of “I Want Candy” for them.  And, their song IS called “Lemonade.”  See how that works?

Listen to “Lemonade” from BRAIDS’ debut release, Native Speaker.  Click on the cover to go to their Facebook Page.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 10 SXSW Artist pop quiz interviews and Showcases « realpopolio
  2. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 30. BRAIDS pop quiz « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

