Jon Sandler pop quiz interview

February 25, 2011

Name:  Jon Sandler
Genre:  Pop/Fusion
Debut Release: The Fancy Band EP (super duper records)
Release Date:  May 11, 2010

This, That, or the Other
1. Underground OR Mainstream?  Mainstream
2. Maintain Artistic Integrity and Vision OR Make a lot of Money? (OR Both)??? Maintain Artistic Integrity
3. Studio OR Stage? Stage
4. Spirituality OR Hedonism?  Spiritual Hedonism
5. Make Love, Have Sex, OR %$*!? %$*!

Fill in the Blank
6. Music is my air.
7. I’m musically inspired by life.
8. If I could have made any music video it would have been “This Too Shall Pass” by  OK Go.
9. If I was a super hero I’d be Late Night Champ Man.
10. Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll should change to   Sex, Drugs, and Rock & Roll…so yeah, no change.

Short Answer
11. I make music because:  I wrote my first song when I was 9, before I really understood what I was doing.  I started singing and playing guitar and songs just came out of me.  I never thought about what I wanted to say, it was always raw emotion coming out in that form.  I soon came to realize that it was a gift to have that outlet for my feelings and thoughts to be released and I felt very lucky when I realized that people actually liked what I was creating.  I still make music because I love it, but it has evolved into a way to give back.  I love that people are relating to and feeling comfort from my songs.

12. I want my fans to:  Individually take from and interpret my songs in whatever way makes sense for them.  I want them to feel happiness, comfort, or any emotion they want to feel when listening and trust that my intentions are good.

13. If I could only share one thing about myself it would be:  I can do a shockingly good mouth trumpet.

14. Wild Card! With people being exposed and having access to so much music these days, it is more important than ever for music lovers to evaluate artists who are on their way up.   It is great that there are music blogs like THE REAL popolio that help sort through the masses and I am honored to be included!

15. I want my musical legacy to be:  I’d like to be remembered as a great songwriter, an amazing performer, someone who never settled for “normal,” and always pushed the envelope and, above all, a good person.

The video Jon Sandler wishes he would have made!

Listen to “Nowhere Bound” from Jon Sandler’s debut EP, The Fancy Band.  Click on the cover to go to his official site.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: MY TOP 30: Year 3 Posts of ALL-TIME! 18. Jon Sandler pop quiz « realpopolio

Leave a Reply

